The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing five projects with its 2019 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban and social problems while also being functional and sustainable. Recipients can include healthcare building design, health care planning and healthcare design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a seven-member jury in the following categories.

Category A
Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Category B
Built: More than $25 million (construction cost)

Category C
Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space or adaptive reuse of an existing building to a healthcare use.

All five projects were honored at the AIA AAH/ACHA Summer Leadership Summit in Chicago on Saturday, July 27. Visit AIA’s website for more information on the AIA/AAH Healthcare Design Awards.