The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing eight projects with its 2020 Architecture Awards. The 2020 Architecture Awards program celebrates the best contemporary architecture and highlights the many ways buildings and spaces can improve lives. The nine-member jury selects submissions that demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place, purpose, history, and environmental sustainability. The recipients are:

  • Calgary Central Library, Calgary, Alberta, Canada: Snøhetta, Oslo, Norway, and DIALOG, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport Terminal 2, Mumbai, India: Skidmore, Owings and Merrill LLP, Chicago
  • Ed Kaplan Family Institute for Innovation and Tech Entrepreneurship, Chicago: John Ronan Architects, Chicago
  • Floral Court, London, United Kingdom: Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, New York City
  • Glenstone Museum, Potomac, Maryland: Thomas Phifer and Partners, New York City
  • Jishou Art Museum, Jishou, China: ATELIER FCJZ, Beijing, China
  • Minnesota State Capitol Restoration, St. Paul, Minnesota: HGA, Minneapolis
  • Tivoli Hjørnet, Copenhagen, Denmark: Pei Cobb Freed and Partners, New York City

The jury included:

  • Samuel M. Miller, FAIA, chair, LMN, Seattle
  • Merrill Elam, AIA, Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects, Atlanta
  • Rebecca Sharkey, AIA, EHDD, San Francisco
  • Dale Frens, AIA, Patterhn Ives LLC, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Michael Johns, FAIA, NOMA, Mdesigns + MWJ Consulting LLC, Philadelphia
  • Michelle Acosta, AIA, SmithGroup, Detroit
  • Trinity Simons, Mayor’s Institute on City Design, Washington, D.C.
  • Kevin Alter, Assoc. AIA, Alterstudio Architecture, Austin, Texas
  • Caleb Bertels, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Ark.

For more information, visit

Tivoli Hjørnet, Copenhagen, Denmark, photo courtesy of Hufton and Crow