The Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance (FGIA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the inaugural FGIA Annual Conference Awards Banquet in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Mike Burk, North American technical representative for Sparklike, Helsinki, Finland, and Randi Ernst, president of FDR Design, Buffalo, Minn., were awarded the Glazing Outstanding Service Award. The two were presented with their awards by Helen Sanders, strategic business development for Technoform, Twinsburg, Ohio. Burk, a 25-year veteran in the technical and training areas of the insulating glass industry, is the chair of the Glass Safety Awareness Council. He also has served on the Technical Services Committee. The Glazing Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

“Anyone who has met [Burk] has witnessed his humor and generosity, and has been touched by his unfailing ability to lend a hand and put others first,” said Sanders. “He never just sits and watches. He is always lending a hand with the critical back-room equipment or helping carry out events.”

Ernst, an inaugural member of the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance (IGMA), has been very active in a total of nine committees and task groups over the years, including two chair roles.

“No slouch in technical development himself, [Ernst] has filed for patents for his inventions of a thermal conductivity sensor for analyzing the contents of sealed packages or insulated glass units, and a glass edge sealant curing system,” said Sanders. “He also founded his own company in 1988, providing IG glass filling and testing equipment.”

Mark Silverberg, president at Technoform, was awarded the Fenestration Outstanding Service Award. He was presented with his award by Donnie Hunter, director of global product management at Kawneer Co. Inc., Norcross, Ga.

The Fenestration Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole. A third-generation member of the glazing and fenestration industry, Silverberg has been involved since 1984. He started his own company in 2004 and has been active with the association for more than 30 years.

“[Silverberg] has reached the peak of involvement as a member of the board of directors,” said Hunter. “On the board, he has worked to expand industry-wide participation in addressing issues surrounding windows and glazing.”

The Architectural Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carl Troiano, president of Trojan Powder Coatings, Bay Shore, N.Y., by previous award recipient Robert Jutras, principal engineer, building envelope performance at CLEB Laboratory, Northbrook, Ill.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Council. Troiano has been involved in the standards for finishing for all materials and has been immersed in details, such as accelerated weathering, abrasion resistance and color retention and more.

“[Troiano] started in the industry while still in high school, signing up with his dad’s 1959-vintage patio furniture company,” said Jutras. “By 1990, he had reinvented the business to focus on coil coating. He is now president of the firm, which has since grown to encompass three locations.”

The Residential Distinguished Service Award was presented to Mark Mikkelson, director, corporate regulatory affairs at Andersen Corp., Bayport, Minn., by previous award recipient Mark Fortun, manager, code compliance at Endura Products Inc., Colfax, N.C. Michelle Hunt accepted the award on Mikkelson’s behalf.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Council is recognized with this distinction. Mikkelson serves on the FGIA board of directors as well as on the Western region board.

“[Mikkelson] is your go-to guy for fast and accurate answers if you have any questions about local, state, national or international codes,” said Fortun. “He is well recognized for his leadership role, as well as his ability to collaborate with his colleagues throughout the fenestration industry and in the code development community.”

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to John Westerfield, marketing, web development and code compliance officer at CrystaLite, Everett, Wash., by previous recipient Josh Wignall, director of marketing at EFCO Corp., Monett, Mo.

This award acknowledges a person who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association. Westerfield has served on four committees and task groups, of late pushing for more active new member recruitment efforts through the Skylight/Sloped Glazing Marketing Committee.

“[Westerfield] participation with AAMA reflects an important duality,” said Wignall. “He is effective in marketing, but he is also well-grounded in the technical details. Known for being a multitasker at his company, he creates and manages product literature and website development, but is also responsible for product testing and certification.”

The Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jeff Haberer, technical manager at Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions, New Berlin, Wis., by Dave Cooper, principal at DJ Cooper Consulting, DeForest, Wis. Haberer is also a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity.

“A pillar of our industry, [Haberer] leads our Technical Services Committee and has served as an IGMA board member,” said Cooper. “He is dedicated to the work of our organization.”

Mike Burk, Helen Sanders and Randi Ernst

Mark Silverberg, Donnie Hunter

Robert Jutras, Carl Troiano

Mark Mikkelson

John Westerfield, Josh Wignall

David Cooper, Jeff Haberer

Jim Hunter